Where’s the healing?

23 September 2009 § 3 Comments


Two things started to bug me today:

  1. It’s been a week since I last posted on the blog – that won’t really meet my project of posting frequently (though I guess one week is ok – there’s some great blogs around that I follow where posts happen a lot LESS than once a week)
  2. The blog is titled The Mediocre Priest – and yet, not one of my posts has been about healing so far.

That got me thinking. I play several alts, but there’s no doubt in my mind that Tsark, my priest, is my main. Also, I love healing – so much so that I now have a paladin, druid and shaman, all 80, all with a healing spec. And yet, I haven’t felt the need or urge to blog about healing – I seem to focus mostly on issues of raid leading, and on issues of raid instance design. I believe I can find two reasons of my lack of healing talk.

The first one is – I *am* a mediocre priest. This requires some explanation. I’ve played Tsark for four years and a half now, and he’s the first character I got to 60. He leveled up as shadow, but of course, at the end game, I was healing (I even healed MC shadow-specced, for a while, before moving to the tri-spec that was all the rage back when the top talent in Holy was Holy Nova and the top talent in Disc was Divine Spirit). The moniker of mediocre priest comes from a joke by the leader of the guild I was in while levelling up, who advertised our group as “mediocre priest and superb tank looking for 3 dps” – it stuck since then, and I revel a bit in it. Mostly, I like it because it prevents me from taking up airs: I know I’m not the best healer I can be, nor the best player I can be (as my raid group noticed today, with me dying to Val’kyr blobbies…). So, while I know I have experience in priest healing, I also know that there’s lots about priest healing I don’t realise. Case in point: the MT of my raid recently pointed out to me that Holy Nova isn’t AoE-capped. While he does play a priest, I found it slightly shameful that he knew something I didn’t – admittedly something not necessarily linked to healing, but still. While I think this “knowing I don’t know” attitude is good in general, it also makes me unsure about taking definite stands about healing issues.

This leads me to the second issue – my knowledge on priest healing really comes from other sources on the internet. Elitist Jerks, Penance Priest, World of Snarkcraft, Plus Heal, Matticus’ work both on his site and on wow.com… These should really be the bread and butter of most priests out there, and I don’t have the time or patience to do serious number crunching to come up with alternative theories about the most effective stats, or the most useful piece of gear. So I would feel like a fraud just recycling their ideas in here, and my research background really prevents me from publishing unoriginal research (and plagiarised blogs).

All that said, I think I’ll need to come up with some healing posts. Or change the name of the blog. But see? That’s just it: I like the name of the blog too much, so I just have to come up with some healing posts.

You’ve been warned…

Tagged: , ,

§ 3 Responses to Where’s the healing?

  • Jov says:

    Holy crap. I found you via a linkback and now I’m reading. Not read many posts so far, but really impressed with what I’m seeing right now. (Esp the MC-era priest and their obsession with regen… yeah, you’ll pry my regen from my cold dead hands, even when my fiend is only used in most fights for a bit of burst damage)

    Definitely will keep reading, but wanted to pop in quickly for saying thank you for the link and I’m flattered you seem to think we’re a bread-and-butter kinda priest site… It wasn’t originally our goal starting out, but… wow… /flattered O.O

    • Tsark says:

      You do provide some great info for priests, AND you have frequent new posts – a pretty good combo in my book. The only problem with your site? You’re holy… 😛

      • Jov says:

        Hey, screw you, hippie!

        I -was- the Disc priest back in MC days. And my non-raiding priests are Disc. I think I’ve got a good handle on that side of the fence… Just because SOME people are easily swayed by shiny things doesn’t mean -I’m- the one with the problem.

        Nub.

        ( 😉 ❤ )

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Where’s the healing? at The Mediocre Priest.

meta

