The plans are to be changed

17 November 2009 § Leave a comment


I had planned a post to talk about Discipline priest gear, updating Paolo’s post for the benefit of people like me, with no (regular) access to 25-man raids but with a serious 10-man. That would mean including some of the hardmode loot that Paolo left out, while excluding most of the 25-man options (except Onyxia, because a) you can PUG that, b) we’re actually killing her with 10 raiders in 25-man difficulty, so yeah, you can get that loot). In the end though I realised the added value was very little (he left out a neckpiece from Thorim hard, and the upgraded Signet of the Kirin Tor, both of which are actually quite nice, but not enough to devote a whole post to it).

So, instead, I promise to work on a couple of the posts I have drafted – probably the one about 10-man raiding feeling a bit like the ugly stepsister sometimes. Look for it by the weekend.

In the meantime, I wanted to share a small episode that made me think a lot. My 10-man raid finally managed to get Insanity again this week, after a 5-week hiatus. The Drape of the Sunreavers dropped as our bonus loot, which of course sent all 2 healers and 4 dps casters into high salivation. Because we have a fairly regular roster, and we’ve become good friends, we try to talk about loot instead of simply rolling. However, caster cloaks have been a noticeable gap in the itemisation of boss’ loot tables, and we’ve been particularly unlucky, so most of us were still using Naxx-level cloaks. So we decided to just roll and see. My roll was the lowest (no surprise there) – and then everyone passed to me.

Some said that they preferred waiting for the spirit/haste version (which admittedly could be better for our warlock, and maybe for our druid especially after the next patch). Some just said that my cloak was worse than theirs, so it was a bigger upgrade for me. But to me (and maybe I’m just on a mind trip here, seeing meaning where there’s none), that was a “thank you” for the work I put into that raid. And I don’t want to say that I’ve worked harder than most – in fact, sometimes I feel like I’m holding the group back given my attraction to void zones. But.. I don’t know how else to say this: it really felt like I was being rewarded. All of which I found extremely touching. So thank you guys – I’m quite lucky to be raiding with you all.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The plans are to be changed at The Mediocre Priest.

meta

