Archangel, Shields and being the last to the party

20 October 2010 § 2 Comments


Just a quick post to mention that my training dummy testing suggests that Archangel doesn’t buff Shield absorbs. Now, I can live with all the nerfs and the changes in mechanics of Disc, but this just strikes me as bad design. If you include a new mechanic in the Disc tree (Archangel), it seems to me you should make sure it works in good synergy with the existing main mechanic of the tree (Shields). I understand that the developers want us to move away from Shield spamming, but I’m just not sure that this is the way to do it.

Tagged:

§ 2 Responses to Archangel, Shields and being the last to the party

  • Tam says:

    I agree! I was operating under the assumption it did boost shield absorbs, except I crunched my numbers last night and, woe upon the house of Tamarind, it didn’t. I wonder if the key is to be casting heal while Archangel is up, boosting its pathetically meagre healing. But, meh :/

    • Tsark says:

      Yeah the more I think about it, the more I understand that the model is to have shield spamming on one side, vs Archangel/Penance/Grace/Heals on the other. Which may be acceptable, but it just feels like a major MAJOR change.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Archangel, Shields and being the last to the party at The Mediocre Priest.

meta

